Member countries and organizations

In 2010, there are 20 members of the G-20. These include, at the leaders summits, the leaders of 19 countries and of the European Union and, at the ministerial-level meetings, the finance ministers and central bank governors of 19 countries and of the European Union :[2][6]

Region Member Leader Finance Minister Central Bank Governor GDP (nominal·PPP)
$Million USD
Africa South Africa President Jacob Zuma Minister of Finance Pravin Gordhan Gill Marcus 287,219 492,684 49,320,500
Canada Prime Minister Stephen Harper Minister of Finance Jim Flaherty Mark Carney 1,336,427 1,281,064 34,088,000
Mexico President Felipe Calderón Secretary of Finance Ernesto Cordero Arroyo Agustín Carstens 874,903 1,465,726 111,211,789
United States President Barack Obama Secretary of the Treasury Timothy Geithner Ben Bernanke 14,256,275 14,256,275 309,173,000
Argentina President Cristina Fernández de Kirchner Minister of Economy Amado Boudou Mercedes Marcó del Pont 310,065 584,392 40,134,425
Brazil President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva Minister of Finance Guido Mantega Henrique Meirelles 1,574,039 2,013,186 192,859,000
East Asia China President Hu Jintao Minister of Finance Xie Xuren Zhou Xiaochuan 4,326,187 7,903,235 1,338,612,968
Japan Prime Minister Yukio Hatoyama Minister of Finance Naoto Kan Masaaki Shirakawa 5,068,059 4,159,432 127,390,000
South Korea President Lee Myung-bak Minister of Strategy
and Finance
Yoon Jeung-hyun Kim Joong-soo 832,512 1,364,148 50,060,000
South Asia India Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Minister of Finance Pranab Mukherjee Duvvuri Subbarao 1,235,975 3,526,124 1,180,251,000
Indonesia President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Minister of Finance Agus Martowardojo Darmin Nasution 539,337 962,471 231,369,500
Saudi Arabia King Abdullah I Minister of Finance Ibrahim Abdulaziz Al-Assaf Muhammed Al-jasser 369,671 593,385 25,721,000
Europe European Union E. Council President[7]

Commission President[7]

Herman Van Rompuy

José Manuel Barroso

Commissioner for Economic
and Monetary Affairs
Olli Rehn Jean-Claude Trichet 16,447,259 14,793,979 501,259,840
France President Nicolas Sarkozy Minister of the Economy,
Industry and Employment
Christine Lagarde Christian Noyer 2,675,951 2,108,228 65,447,374
Germany Chancellor Angela Merkel Minister of Finance Wolfgang Schäuble Axel A. Weber 3,352,742 2,806,226 81,757,600
Italy Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi Minister of Economy
and Finance
Giulio Tremonti Mario Draghi 2,118,264 1,740,123 60,325,805
Russia President Dmitry Medvedev Minister of Finance Alexei Leonidovich Kudrin Sergey Mikhaylovich Ignatyev 1,229,227 2,109,551 141,927,297
Turkey Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan Minister of Finance Mehmet Şimşek Durmuş Yılmaz 615,329 880,061 72,561,312
United Kingdom Prime Minister David Cameron Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne Mervyn King 2,183,607 2,139,400 62,041,708
Oceania Australia Prime Minister Kevin Rudd Treasurer Wayne Swan Glenn Stevens 997,201 851,170 22,328,632

In addition to these 20 members, the following forums and institutions, as represented by their respective chief executive officers, participate in meetings of the G-20:[2]

Membership does not reflect exactly the 19 largest national economies of the world in any given year. The organization states:[1]

“ In a forum such as the G-20, it is particularly important for the number of countries involved to be restricted and fixed to ensure the effectiveness and continuity of its activity. There are no formal criteria for G-20 membership and the composition of the group has remained unchanged since it was established. In view of the objectives of the G-20, it was considered important that countries and regions of systemic significance for the international financial system be included. Aspects such as geographical balance and population representation also played a major part.

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>